Happy Feet

At the beginning of the year I jumped on the #2016makenine bandwagon over on Instagram. I knew that I’d have no trouble making nine items over the course of the year, so I chose nine items that I knew would be big, involved projects, or that had tricky elements that I thought might trip me up. This is what I came up with:
 

 

Top row: Laule’a Socks, Jujika Cowl, Cascades Sweater

Middle row: Waver Jacket, Boylston Bra, Ginger Jeans

Bottom Row: M6696, Madeleine Dress, Kielo Dress


Well, we’re at the end of January, and I’ve completed the first item on my list…
 

 

…the Laule’a socks! This is the first pair of socks I’ve ever knitted, and I’m so glad I chose this pattern. They’re knit in Quince & Co. Lark in the colourway Belize, and the 10 ply wool made them so quick to knit. It also make it much easier to pick up the stitches along the edge of the gusset, and to generally see what I was doing. The gusset was the bit that really worried me, I was struggling to figure out how it would work in my head. Like with most knitting problems though, it was much simpler to figure out once I had the physical object in front of me!
 

 

 

These are more like slippers than socks, realistically. I don’t think they’d fit in any of my shoes! But they’ll be really nice to wear around the house, and they’re lovely and warm. I’d love to have a go at knitting some finer socks later in the year, they seem like they’ll be a good portable project. I knitted these on double pointed needles, but I think circulars would be better for ease of transport.

 

 

I really enjoyed knitting these. Google tells me that Laule’a is Hawaiian for peace or happiness, so thats nice and fitting! I like the spotty texture that the purl stitches give to the socks, and the pattern was really simple to memorise. I did find that I had a little hole at the top point of each gusset on my first sock from picking up the fist stitch, so on my second sock I picked up a loop from the row below and then knitted it together with the first picked up stitch. I have no idea if thats a legitimate way to do it, but it worked! Look at me, troubleshooting my knitting problems…

 

 

I’m very proud of my socks! Now if only I could convince Zelda kitty that they aren’t her chew toys, especially when my feet are in them…

And now a barrage of questions for knitters: What sock patterns would you recommend? Benefits to top down vs toe up? DPNs or Circular needles?And can I ask for blocking advice? Do you bother to block your hand knit socks? Help!

23 thoughts on “Happy Feet

  1. Aaah these are fabulous!! I am well impressed – knitted socks! Love the photos too, lots of fun with the fairy lights. πŸ™‚

    I am yet to summon the courage to try socks. One day soon, if I keep on getting inspired by creations like these πŸ˜‰

    1. Thanks Kat! All my photos were looking really manky (nasty carpet, terrible paint job on our skirting boards…), so I thought I’d get a bit fancy πŸ™‚ I can lend you this pattern if you like, they were really quick and satisfying!

  2. I would love to knit socks – though I have yet to make any yarn garment other than a scarf or hat for myself and at the moment I only crochet. So in the meantime, I’ll just admire yours instead!

  3. Love the socks AND the photos! ….I started my first pair of socks a year & a half ago and they have yet to become actual socks 😦 In fact they’re about to become fingerless gloves!

  4. These are so cute and I adore your photoshoot! I haven’t made socks before – I suspect I’m about to become addicted to making beanies so socks might be for 2017! I know that Lladybird has blogged lots of socks, as has Grainline. I think Did you make that? just blogged a beginner sock pattern too, and check out the Yarn Harlot as she’s always making them as gifts. I’ve seen little plastic sock blocker template things before made out of plastic….. They might be of some use?

    1. I’ve seen those plastic sock forms too, might have so see how expensive they are at my local knitting shops! I’d love to knit some hats, but I don’t like how beanies look on my super short hair 😦 Might need to find some beret patterns…

  5. They turned out great! I’m about to start knitting the Simple Skyp Socks pattern which I’ve often seen recommended on IG as a good beginner sock pattern. I know the Hermione sock pattern is really popular too. These will be my first pair, so I’m not sure about your other questions, but I will say that in general I’m a big fan of circular needles over dpns!

    1. I’ve got the Hermione sock pattern in my ravelry favourites, I think I’ll try them next. I quite liked knitting these on DPNs, but I’ll try circulars for my next pair in the name of science! Good luck with the Skyps, they’re cute πŸ™‚

  6. These are great!! The colour is awesome and I have heard lots of good things about Quince Yarn. I think the main benefit of toe up socks is that you don’t have to kitchener stitch the toe. I’ve done both and I still prefer top down.
    PS: The fairy lights in your photos are perfect!

    1. Thanks Heather! That would be a benefit of toe up, I found Kitchener stitch really confusing! I never managed to get my head around the pattern of stitches, I had to go through the instructions one by one for every step. I’m glad that everyone likes the fairy lights, I thought the whole thing was go random! “Look, here I am prancing around in my socks with some ankle height fairy lights, totally normal!” πŸ˜‚

Leave a Reply

