Southport #2

Missing: my sew-jo. It has been gone for at least a month now, and I am desperately seeking its safe return…

Funnily enough, when I look back at my posts from last year, I was saying exactly the same thing last February. Maybe its the heat? Its so hot in my little sewing room, its like a sauna in there. I also have a pair of extremely cuddly kittens demanding my attention at all times (such a hardship). I’ve been trying to get some things done, I have so many things I want to make, but nothing seems to be going right. I think I just need one good project that I enjoy sewing and that turns out really well, and I’ll be away again. Fingers crossed! 

Anyway, before my sewing slump, I finished another Southport dress in rayon crepe. This seems to be the summer of rayon for me!

  
 

I love the colour of this fabric, it was called ‘raisin’ on the tag but I think its more maroon than brown. Either way, I think its really pretty! 
  

I had a bit of trouble with the crepe, it just has so much give it it that it felt like the bodice was growing as I sewed, even with rows of staystitching! It definitely feels bigger and saggier in the bodice than my first version. I had enough fabric to make a self-fabric tie this time, and I turned that whole narrow tube inside out and threaded it through the waist casing before I realised that the crepe fabric was far too rough and sticky to slide smoothly and gather the waist in evenly. Happily I managed to find some ribbon in just the right colour, which makes it much easier to cinch in the waist!

  

I only made one change to the patten this time, which was to make an all in one facing for the arm holes and neckline. I had so much trouble getting my binding to sit flat around the armscye last time that I thought this might make things easier, but in hindsight the lack of rigid bias tape around the neckline might be contributing to the crepe drooping the way it is. 
  

It was easy to make the facing, I just traced off the neck and armscye shape down to the bust dart from the front and back, and drew a curved line from the side seam up to the cente back and front points. If I do it this way again I’ll reinforce the neckline with twill tape though!

I’ve got fabric for one more Southport this summer, I’m hoping I’ll have it done in time for my birthday at the end of the month. Next weekend we’re heading up to Napier for another Art Deco Weekend, so I’ll have a bit of vintage sewing to share, the first of three garments I want to sew as part of the 2016 Vintage Pattern Pledge. After that, hopefully my sewing equilibrium will have returned, and everything will go back to normal!

19 thoughts on “Southport #2

  1. This looks lovely on you! I am currently sewing my 4th Southport for this summer (two short & two maxi’s). It really is an effortless dress to wear in the southern hemisphere stinky summer! The facing is a great idea, the bias is a bit too fiddly for me.

  2. This is very pretty. I’m sorry your sewjo is flagging. Heat is never conducive to sewing! If I’m lacking motivation or it’s too hot to sew I devote time to glueing up PDF’s. Might as well do a crummy task whilst in a funk!

    1. I have done a bit of that, but there are always more PDF’s to assemble! I think I should knock out some Scout tees, or something thats guaranteed to work for me, that might get me back on track!

    1. I’m not complaining really, we’ve had a glorious summer! We just aren’t used to it being this warm in Wellington, everyone is flopping around and being a bit useless šŸ™‚ hope it warms up where you are soon!

  3. Ah I feel ya! I just finshed a shirt for Ben which didn’t do any wonders for my sewjo. Selfish sewing is where it’s at for me! Rayon crepe is a lovely yet odd fabric, I find. So breezy yet strangely heavy. I totally know what you mean when you said that the bodice seemed to be growing! It’s so nice to wear though and your finished dress is lovely.

Leave a Reply

