Zadie Jumpsuit for Autumn

So this is something that had leapfrogged over not just everything in my sewing queue, but everything in my blogging queue as well! You might have noticed that I’ve been into one pieces in a big way this summer, and I really wanted a simple wrap front jumpsuit. I couldn’t find quite what I wanted, as was considering drafting something like this one that Katie made (and wrote a tutorial for!), but then Paper Theory came out with the Zadie Jumpsuit and I didn’t have to! It even had sleeves, which makes it the perfect pattern for autumn…

P1040732

I was pretty wary of the amount of ease in this pattern, I didn’t want to be swimming in it, but its definitely not supposed to be tight! Helpfully, Paper Theory includes the final garment measurements in their instructions, so using those I was pretty confident about cutting out a size 8, even though my measurements fitted neatly between sizes 10 and 12. I also shortened the pattern pieces an inch at the lengthen/shorten line on the bodice, and again by an inch at the lengthen/shorten line across the crotch. I think both adjustments were spot on, the wrap hits just at my waist, and the crotch curve is just the right length! I do wish I had added that inch back onto the hem though, I’d like the trousers to be just a touch longer…

P1040744

The pockets are so good! They’re a great size, and sit really nicely behind the pleat at the waist. I also really like the drop shoulder/sleeve combo, even though I’m getting the above bust wrinkle that I tend to get with a dropped shoulder seam. I’m not sure what the deal is with that, if I need more room in the bust or not, but its something I see in this style of sleeve a lot!

P1040740

I didn’t realise until I looked at these photos, but I’ve got a bubble of fabric above my bum which I think could be fixed with a sway back adjustment. Next time I’d take a wedge out of the back waist seam at the centre back, tapering to nothing at the side seams. But I think it’s fine on this one, I can’t see behind me so it isn’t going to worry me! I cut the back on the fold instead of having a centre back seam, I’ll always cut down on the amount of seams I have to sew if I can.

P1040742

The other change I made was to draft a facing for the neckline and wrap front instead of finishing it with bias tape as the instructions suggest. I just don’t love bias tape, I often find I get it wrinkly and it annoys me! To made the facing I just added a 1cm seam allowance to the neckline and the wrap edge (on the bodice AND the trousers, I very nearly forgot about the bottom part!), then overlapped the bodice and trouser pieces to get rid of the waist seam allowance and traced off a 3cm wide facing. then I just stay-stitched the crap out of all the edges, and sewed the facing on and top stitched it down once the rest of the jumpsuit was assembled. The only problem I had was putting the ties in, I positioned the 45 degree angle at the end so that it matched the angle of the wrap edge and sewed everything down…only to flip the facing into place and realise that the ties now pointed straight down, at 90 degrees to where they should be. I should have read the instructions more closely! 20 minutes of unpicking and re-sewing later, and all was put right.

P1040745

P1040733

Finally, the fabric! I picked up this lightweight denim from The Fabric Store, its brushed on one side (I used it as the inside) so it’s really soft and comfortable. I really like the utilitarian look of this pattern in denim, it means the design details really stand out! I’m looking forward to wearing it with some of my bolder jewelry and shoes, it’ll be a good canvas! I also think it’ll work well in colder weather with a merino tee underneath it, though I’m struggling to figure out what shoes to wear with it once it gets colder…I’m not sure I’ll like it paired with boots. I’ll need to have a trying on session to figure out how to extend it’s wearability!

P1040743

I’ll need to figure that out soon, it’s become very cold and wintery here all of a sudden. It was almost too dark to get photos today, so sorry that they’re a bit dim! I just really wanted to get it documented and up here, I’ve got a disgracefully long list of posts to write and limited patience to write them…

 

17 thoughts on “Zadie Jumpsuit for Autumn

  1. I love this! I wonder if I could use a couple of buttons on the side of the wrap instead of a tie? I hate anything round my waist! I also love your ‘faces’ shirt, I made one very similar and nicked your idea, gave her some red lippy on the collar!

  2. Hiiiiii beautiful denim jumpsuit, this is a winner! I love a good dress-up with a new piece, have fun choosing winter shoes. ^^

Leave a comment