What’s black and white and black and white and black and white?

I seem to have come over all monochromatic recently. I’ve barely worn black clothes for nearly ten years, since I emerged from my mopey teenage goth years, and I can probably count on one hand the number of black clothes I’ve sewn for myself. But in the last few months I’ve bought several lengths of black fabric, and this is my second monochrome post in a row! Maybe I’ve finally got over the traumatic memories of those goth outfits…

  

This is another two for one post, because I’ve made and blogged both patterns before. The top is (of course) another Grainline Studio Lark tee, this time with cap sleeves and a boat neck. I used some 100% cotton that I picked up at Drapers Fabrics in Auckland when I was up there at the end of last year, and it is so soft and lovely! Being pure cotton it is starting to pill a little bit on one hip, where my bag rubs against it, which is a shame. I have enough fabric to make another one though, so if this one gets too shabby looking I’ll just replace it. Can’t just give up on my perfect striped tee!  
 
I took about 2″ off the length off this tee, at the lengthen/shorten line, and then took a deep hem, so I think its probably been shortened by at least 3″. I love the length it is now, just right for wearing untucked. The only thing I would change for next time would be to consider making a facing for the neckline. Turning and stitching would probably be fine for fabric with good recovery, but the 100% cotton does get a bit saggy with wear. I think a facing with some light knit interfacing would help it to hold its lovely shape.
  

So, onto the trousers! These are the Named Alexandria Peg Trousers, made up in a lovely wool crepe from The Fabric Store. I really wanted a ‘winter weight’ pair of these trousers, but realistically there are more spring/autumn weight and the Wellington wind cuts straight through the crepe! We’ve had some lovely fine weather here this autumn though, so they’ve been getting some decent wear.
  

I made them exactly the same as my rayon pair, except this time I used two gold eyelets at the centre front and ran some black grosgrain ribbon through the waistband. I didn’t pick very good elastic to use, it is very soft and I had a terrible time trying to keep it flat inside the waistband as I was topstitching it!
  

I made the pocket bags out of some scraps of black linen to help stabilise the stretchier crepe at the front pockets, and it seems to have worked really well, they aren’t bagging out or anything. I added the patch pockets on the back too, as they actually show up on this plain fabric! I loved sewing with the wool crepe, its so lovely and malleable. It is a tiny bit rough, but nothing major. The biggest downside to these pants is how much fluff sticks to them! Cat fur, thread, lint…its like wool crepe is a fluff magnet. I might have to buy shares in whichever company makes those sticky lint rollers. 
 
I got my little sister to take these photos after we had been out for lunch with Mum, its so nice to get some pictures away from my teal wall! She’s a very good photographer, but I still managed to be pulling terrible faces in about 75% of the photos. Then there are some gems like the one above… I do like this little side alleyway though, with pretty street art and trees growing out of the bricks. I really like this outfit too! Just goofy grins all round, really.
(As for what is black and white and black and white and black and white, its a penguin rolling down a hill. Obviously.)

19 thoughts on “What’s black and white and black and white and black and white?

    1. Thanks! I did consider something like that, but I wasn’t sure how the elastic would curve around the ‘corners’ of the neckline. Might be worth experimenting with though!

  1. This is a very chic outfit lady. I’m all for a facing on a boat neck neckline. You’re right – it does stabilise it and I think gives a really nice rtw finish. I’m tempted by the pants pattern. I’ve had 3 not particularly successful woven pants now from 3 different patterns…..

  2. I love your outfit! Made me google for wool crepe, but that’s nothing to find here (at least not if it should be afordable πŸ˜‰ ) And I think there can’t be too much vblack and white, it’s classy.
    Like your new blog design, too. πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Frederike! I’m sure Fabric.com would have wool crepe, but I don’t know how much shipping to the EU would be. Probably as much as it is to NZ 😬 I thought my old blog design was too busy, I’m hoping this one isn’t too minimal!

      1. Well, that’s a good idea to look at fabric.com. They are the fastest in shipping to Germany as they use UPS, therefore they are also the more expensive ones as UPS does the customs and you have to pay for the “service”. But it’s always a good idea for things that aren’t available otherwise. πŸ˜‰

  3. Spooky – I’m just stitching the neckline on a striped boat-neck T-shirt of my own. I hope it turns out as well as yours has. And I have some black wool crepe in my stash too…

    1. In some ways its easier to get photos using the self timer, at least I know when its about to take the picture and can arrange my face appropriately! It is nice to get some outdoors photos though πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Heather! I love them too, I scuffed the toe of one of them the other day and was so sad 😧 I should see if I can get another pair in an end of season sale somewhere…

Leave a Reply

