Warm Fuzzies

This is my last wooly jumper of the Winter, completed just in time for Spring! Though I should get plenty of wear out of it over the next two months, the weather in Wellington is particularly schizophrenic at this time of year…


This is the Lila Sweater pattern by Carrie Bostick Hoge, knit up in Outlaw Yarn Bohemia Worsted (the same alpaca/possum/polwarth blend I used for my mittens, but in 10 ply). I really like the shape of this jumper, especially that lovely shaped hem.


Its knit from the bottom up, using Sunday short rows to shape the hem. They were a bit of a revelation! Much easier than the wrap and turn method I used to shape the neckline on my Lesley Sweater, and they turned out much neater as well. I’ll definitely be using that method again! The bottom up/in the round construction of Lila was new to me as well, and I think I prefer knitting top down. I like the idea of being able to try it on as I knit to check length and fit! I had a serious case of second sleeve syndrome whilst knitting this, it took me 5 weeks to start knitting again after I finished the first one.

I have had a few issues with this jumper, mainly that it’s turned out a bit smaller than I thought. I knitted a size 38, which should have given me 3″ positive ease, but it’s turned out tighter than I thought. I don’t mind, it just isn’t what I expected! I’m also annoyed that I have nearly two whole balls of wool left over. I started on a fresh ball when I started the neckband! Of course, this might be related to the jumper turning out smaller than I thought, maybe I was knitting too tight. My gauge was ok, but who knows? I’m too much of a novice to be able to troubleshoot knitting fitting!

Fortunately, I really like this wool. It was lovely to knit with, and it’s really soft and warm. Unfortunately, it causes a major case of the fuzzies! Fuzzies on the rest of my clothes, fuzzies on my couch, fuzzies in my nose and eyes and in my throat…I’m desperately hoping that they’ll decrease with wear, or everything I own will be covered in garnet fluff.


Its something I would consider knitting again, but with a few changes. Next time I’d try going up a size, and I’d try knitting it from the top down (I know there are alternate instructions, I’m not sure why I chose this method. Something new, I suppose!). I would also only knit 2″ of garter bands on the sleeves instead of 4″, so that they match the hem band. It annoys me a bit that they’re so wide!

I’m not sure if I’ll be doing much knitting for the rest of the year, my summer sewing pile is huge! And it isn’t all for me either, I’m actually doing some unselfish sewing for a change. Monsieur has said he’d quite like a jumper for next winter, he really likes the shawl collared cable knit sweater worn by Will Graham in several episodes of Hannibal. If anyone has pattern suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

17 thoughts on “Warm Fuzzies

  1. I’m loving the possum inclusion in yarns at the moment – seems to stop pilling perhaps? I’ve just returned from The Craft Sessions, you must try to get there next year Kirsten. Knitting everywhere and such a fantastic weekend. I learned to write a hat pattern, some crazy clever darning and have cast on some lace in 2 ply – and I’m a complete novice!!
    I think this is a stunning jumper, love the hemline and it looks well fitting from where I sit. Honestly, the wrist bands look clever and really sweet. On ya luv!
    New PM over here again, Julia Gillard said to be in hospital after an overdose of Schadenfreude!!!

    1. I know, I’ve been following your coup with interest! Though I’m slightly less excited by your change in leadership now that I see your new PM thinks our PM is the bees knees… The Craft Sessions sounds like a great way to spend the weekend, I’ll look forward to seeing your lace!

  2. BTW, I wonder if you worked backwards from your tension square, would the number of stitches cast on have ever created the appropriate bust measurement or was it a close fitting style? Sounds like there might be a problem with the pattern if more than one person has found it small.

  3. Lovely colour, is that a NZ wool? I really like this pattern but mine also turned out smaller than intended! I ended up unravelling the neck band and re-knitting because I thought it was too rigid, but now I think it’s the armholes that are too tight. I’ve only worn it once or twice so I’m considering frogging back to the underarm and adding some length if I can figure it out. Building up the courage to do it is the hard part! Knitting frustrates me so much more than sewing!

    1. It is NZ wool, they have some beautiful colours. Its interesting that it seems to turn out smaller than intended for some people, I wonder whats going on there? My neckline seems to be much higher than others I’ve seen as well, odd. Good luck if you do rip it back, thats so scary! I find knitting way more stressful to fix than sewing too…

  4. I love the sweater, I have been looking at similar styles lately.

    I have had a few gauge swatches lie so I try to check the gauge in the sweater a few times while I am knitting. I try to check the gauge of the swatch before and after blocking to get an idea of how much it grows. Honestly, I don’t get much post block growth will wool fibers unless it is a really loose tension. This method wouldn’t work well for laces or ribbing, but it is a good gut check for normal stockingknot.

    1. Thanks Naia 🙂 Gauge is something I should really learn more about. I can check if my swatch is correct, but if it isn’t I’m a bit stuck! Short of changing needle size I wouldn’t know how to adjust it, especially not in a garment! I’ll need to do sone research…

  5. I love the shape of your sweater! Looks super cozy 🙂 If you have no luck finding a knitting pattern for a shawl neck jumper, the Finlayson pattern by Thread Theory is a nice shawl neck jumper that you could sew instead.

Leave a Reply

