Odds and ends

I’ve had a fairly disjointed and unproductive few weeks (on the sewing front, anyway). My first assignment for the trimester was due yesterday, so that ate into my spare time somewhat. Its also getting dark much earlier, now that we’ve reverted back to non-daylight savings time, and the lighting in my sewing room is just terrible! I’m going to need to invest in a good lamp, and some higher wattage lightbulbs, or I’ll be blind by the end of winter…or only sewing over the weekend, and that won’t work!

I’ve been trying to get a pair of Jedediah trousers finished for Monseur, as all of his jeans have holes in them, but I keep running into fitting issues and getting frustrated. Last night I managed to sew the fly guard closed when I was doing the fly topstitching, so annoying!



Once I fixed that minor issue and got him to try them on, we found that there was some extra fabric pooling in the front between the pockets and the fly. I don’t know where that has come from, because it isn’t an issue with the Jedediah shorts I made him. I’m a bit fed up with them really, I think I’ll put them aside for a week and do some fun sewing for me instead…



I’ve also been doing a bunch of knitting! I made this hat (the Purl Bee Traveling Cables pattern) for my friends’ wee boy, I’m so pleased with how it turned out. It was my first attempt at cables and with knitting on double pointed needles, so definitely a bit of a learning curve. Its so cute though! I really enjoyed knitting the cables, its very satisfying seeing the pattern emerge as you go. I had so much fun with it that I’ve started on a jersey for me, a Quince & Co Wickerwork Pullover. I noticed that nearly all of the jumper patterns I have favourited on Ravelry are Michelle Wang designs, so I thought I should give one a go! 



I’ve just finished my first pattern repeat, I’m liking it so far! I’m using Cascade 220 Heathered wool in the Birch colourway, its lovely. Hope I can get it finished before spring…

Also, I’ve signed up for my first Me Made May!



I, Kirsten of http://www.fiftytwofancies.wordpress.com, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’15. I endeavour to wear one (or more) hand made items at least 5 days a week for the duration of May 2015′

 I loved watching it unfold last year, and this year I feel like I have enough season appropriate handmade clothes to join in. I’ll definitely have to repeat garments, but I’ll try not to repeat whole outfits! I’ll post photos over on instagram, then might do a roundup and overview of what I’ve learned about my wardrobe (and its gaps) at the end of the month. Can’t wait!

11 thoughts on “Odds and ends

  1. Kirsten, have you seen the hat knit a long over at Fringe Association http://fringeassociation.com/2015/04/16/fringe-hatalong-no-2-larbre-by-cirilia-rose/
    I don’t think I’ll be KALing as I’ve taken a year so far to knit a top down jumper and still have one sleeve to go!! My kids keep putting orders in for clothes! It’ll be interesting to see what our Me-Made wardrobes lack and what our favourite wearable makes are. Nice hat – quite where’s Wally!

    1. I was going to make the ribbing cream as well, but decided not to because of the ‘Where’s Wally’ thing! Red and white are my friends football team colours, so I thought I’d use them. I haven’t seen that KAL, I’ll pop over and have a look 🙂

  2. Welcome to the wonderful world of MMM! It’s really fun to take part in – so much great community! (Oh, and I vote to finish the pants but accept they will be less than perfect! Then you only have to sew another improved pair later if you really want!)

Leave a Reply

