Planning for Autumn

Warning: list post ahead! Turn back now if you find planning posts dull!

I hate that summer is slowly coming to an end, but I love that the changing season gives me a chance to make plans for new sewing projects for cooler weather! I had a huge clear out of my wardrobe last week when we moved, so theres a few holes which need to be filled. My standard daily outfit is usually jeans, a tee shirt, and a cardigan, with extra layers of merino as it gets colder. Boring, but functional and easy to put on in the dark at 6am! This is the list I’ve put together of things I’d like to make over the next six weeks to see me through Autumn and into the start of Winter…

1) Another button down shirt. The Grainline Archer is a no brainer for the pattern, I know it already fits! I have some lovely polka dotted chambray set aside for it, so that I can match pretty much every other sewing blogger on the internet.

IMG_1085

2) The Augusta Hoodie, from the new Named collection. I think if I make it up in a thick merino sweatshirting or double knit it will be perfect for wearing on cooler mornings, when it isn’t cold enough for a proper coat! I’d love to make the sleeves and hood out of a striped or plaid fabric, I’ll need to see what I can find!

IMG_1367

3) Wool skirts. I have plans for another Moss Miniskirt in forest green wool for everyday wear, and also for a BHL Flora skirt made in wool crepe for fancy occasions!

IMG_1177
(This is the gorgeous Flora skirt Elisalex made as part if the Flora Sewalong on the BHL blog)

4) Trousers! I still haven’t printed out my Ginger jeans pattern, I really should get onto that. There is also a casual trouser pattern in the latest Great British Sewing Bee book (which is awesome, by the way!), which I’m pretty interested in trying out in a lightweight wool.

IMG_1154-0

5) Some extra wool layering pieces. I’d like a merino Linden Sweatshirt, and I’d like to try out the Jenna Cardigan from Muse Patterns. Both are nice basics, so I’ll try out some fancy embellishments! I want some merino Espresso leggings too, to wear under my new skirts!

IMG_1180
(Linden on the left, Jenna on the right)
I think thats enough to keep me busy for the next wee while! I’m sure I’ll get distracted half way through by something new and shiny…

What are your seasonal sewing plans?

15 thoughts on “Planning for Autumn

  1. This looks like a great list! Is that a striped chambray in the first picture? Great fabric!! I’m looking forward to seeing all your cold weather makes!

  2. Och, where did you get that chambray from? I’m such a sucker for polka dots.

    Also – you forgot to mention that your true daily uniform is actually basically PJ’s. So lucky!

    1. Its from Carly Harris, since she’s randomly started selling fabric! There was a lighter blue as well. I can grab you some if you want? Scrubs are great, but I do get jealous of people who get to wear nice clothes to work!

  3. That looks like a mighty fine list to me. I’m keen to see how your Named Hoodie comes together, I really like that one but haven’t even made the Jamie Christina pattern I bought this time last year! I have got a few shirts I want to make and another couple of jeans before I start on the winter coats, but with this weather I might need to jump straight to the coats!!!

  4. Nice list! Yes cold weather is a bummer, but it is lovely to plan making warm woolly things…. I’ve got knits, skirts, dresses, pants, shirts, capes, jackets – way too much really but so much fun to plan!

    1. I’m trying really hard to make an actual plan and sew things that will fit into my existing wardrobe, rather than just jumping on all the new pretty things which pop up in my bloglovin feed! Its a mixture of thing that I need to replace (jeans, cardigans etc), things that I want to sew for the challenge of making them (shirts, jeans) and things that I just want (the Flora skirt, for example. Impractical but pretty!) šŸ˜Š

      1. I know what you mean! There is sooo much pretty out there šŸ˜‰ I am too trying to fit items into my current wardrobe but also to thin out mine to get the most wear out of fewer items instead of least wear from most. It’s quite the task!

  5. Hi Kirsten, a self drafted blazer style jacket is head of my list. Having said that – there are about a million things I’d rather make, but the jacket had languished long enough in the 2nd toille stage. I too have plans for the Jenna cardi. I’m thinking something self drafted in the style of Moneta, for a quick fix – much like a morning coffee. Seeing the comment about capes here, I made a wonderful cape a few years ago in a scratchy scottish wool, stupidly lined it in a stretch satin and that sags now (note to self, turn the stretch widthways next time) – must fix.

    1. You’re so clever with your self drafting, I’ll look forward to seeing how your blazer turns out! I know what you mean about quick fix sewing, I love making quick tee shirts and bits like that as a palette cleanser between bigger projects! Your cape sounds awesome šŸ˜„

Leave a Reply

