A Practice Victoria Blazer

So this was never meant to be a bloggable item of clothing, it was only supposed to be a muslin! I never usually bother, but as one of my goals for this year is to become better at sewing and making things fit, I thought I should have a go. I know, I know, I should be making a muslin first for most things, but I usually just can’t be arsed. For the Victoria Blazer from BHL though I was a bit confused about which size I should make. My measurements put me pretty squarely in the size 12/8 box, but the finished measurements for that size seemed huge! So I bit the bullet and made a practice run.

20150118-171542-62142855.jpg

I had this wool plaid in my stash, it originally came from the remnants bin at The Fabric Store for $10 so I figured it wasn’t too much of a loss if it didn’t work! I cut the size 12/8 first, and I do think its a bit big. I know its supposed to be a boxy style, but I think I’d like it to be a bit narrower in the body and back.

20150118-171936-62376713.jpg

20150118-172002-62402024.jpg

I’ll cut my next version out in the size 10/6, and maybe look at putting some narrow darts in the back, just to bring it in a little bit. The floral cotton I have set aside for my next version if stiffer than this wool, so it’ll stick out more at the back. I don’t want it to look like a tent!

20150118-172202-62522474.jpg

Its lined with a striped acetate from The Fabric Store. I wish I had lined the sleeves, as the wool is a bit itchy, but I had already finished it before I thought of that! I hand sewed the lining to the armscye and at the back hem.

20150118-172536-62736503.jpg

20150118-172723-62843117.jpg

Even though its a bit big, I really like the style. The way the neckline/darts are fashioned is really clever, and really easy to do, even though I haven’t managed to get the darts sitting quite right here. I’m not sure if I need to steam the crap out of them again, or if I haven’t sewn them down far enough. I’ll do some careful measuring and draw my seam line on the next version I think, so that they sit better. I really like the wool as well, I wish I had more of it to make a matching pencil skirt! It reminds me a bit of my Nana for some reason, maybe just because its wool and plaid. Today is the anniversary of her death, so it was nice to spend some quality time with her sewing machine and one of her wooden spools of vintage thread. I think she would have quite liked it.

17 thoughts on “A Practice Victoria Blazer

  1. Yeah, wearable muslins are a total win, in my opinion! And thanks for posting this before I started mine. πŸ˜‰ I compared the finished measurements of the Victoria blazer to a RTW one I have and like to wear and I think I’m going a size down as well. Now I’m even more curious to see your floral version. πŸ™‚

  2. This looks great for your first try at the pattern. That wool plaid is really pretty. I really like the cropped length of your blazer, too. It seems like such a great layering piece– I keep kicking around getting this pattern. I may have to order it soon!

    1. I wasn’t totally sold on it when I first saw it either, but there have been so many awesome versions sewn up that changed my mind! I think the cropped length will make it really easy to wear.

  3. It’s lovely fabric for your colouring. I agree its a little big and I’d style it with a more fitted top to give you some shape, but otherwise you’ve done very well! I really tossed up between this and the salme cropped blazer…..

    1. Thanks. When I was looking at the photos I realised that I should have worn it with a fitted teeshirt, but the light was so bad I didn’t bother trying to get more photos! I like the look of a lot of Salme patterns, but the idea of having to trace them and add a seam allowance puts me off a bit. I’m too lazy for that sort of carry on!

  4. I’m all for wearable muslins! If you didn’t say that it was a practice run, I would’ve never guessed as the fabric and pattern are a match made in heaven!

  5. What an amazing muslin! This is totally wearable even if you feel its a bit boxy in the back? I have seen tutorials for solving this issue by placing two darts at the back so give it more shape – perhaps you could try sometjng like that? Other than that i think it looks quite good in the shoulders πŸ™‚ happy sewing!

Leave a Reply

