Spring Sewing

Spring is here! I’m furiously plotting my sewing for the next few months, and clearing out my wardrobe. Anything that doesn’t fit, is visibly stretched out of shape or overly shabby, or hasn’t been worn for over 18 months is going in the bin, or to the local hospice shop. I have to make room for all of my new makes somehow!

Tee shirts! I am planning a veritable plethora of Renfrews this spring, and I’m pretty keen to try out the Scout pattern too. All of my tee shirts are looking pretty stretched out and sad, so I’ll need to keep a look out for some nice knits. Especially a good breton stripe, I have a few projects just waiting for the perfect striped knit!

20140905-174746-64066855.jpg

Drapey confortable trousers. I’m thinking of the Tessuti Suzy pants pattern, with the flat front waistband modification I’ve seen a few people make. Again, I’m just waiting to find the perfect fabric! I think a patterned rayon would be perfect, if I can find some.

20140905-175047-64247015.jpg

A lighter jacket. My favourite blazer is in desperate need of a new lining, and I also really like the Tessuti Tokyo jacket. I think if I made up in wool crepe it would be perfect for the random Wellington weather changes!

20140905-175226-64346832.jpg

A spring dress. I already have the BHL Flora pattern and some cotton voile washed and ready to go, so as soon as we get close to bare legs weather I’ll get onto that! I also have the Grainline Alder pattern (in print! Exciting!) and I’m super keen to make up version B with the gathered skirt.

20140905-175649-64609655.jpg

Another archer. I’ve had some orange silk cotton blend earmarked for an Archer since before I made my first version! I think I’ll try it with the curved button band tutorial from Four Square Walls, its a lovely girly variation on the pattern.

20140905-173933-63573417.jpg

A spring skirt. I’d really like a floral floaty skirt, so a knee length Hollyburn in a light cotton would be nice! I’m also seriously loving the Dalloway skirt, the new pattern from Jennifer Lauren Vintage. I’m sure I have room for two skirts in my wardrobe…

20140905-180212-64932693.jpg

A knit dress. Probably another Moneta, in a lighter (hopefully less stretchy) knit than last time! If I can find my perfect breton stripe, I might buy enough for this too.

20140905-180356-65036429.jpg

I have lots of other vague plans swirling around in my head, but these items would fill most of the holes in my wardrobe. A lot of my other ideas will hopefully come to fruition later in the year and over the summer, like the new BHL Holly playsuit and a Papercut Patterns Soma bikini

Also, three posts in a week! I’m definitely procrastinating. Only ~600 words to go…

4 thoughts on “Spring Sewing

  1. I’m with you in the spring sewing plans! Although in saying that I feel as is I’ve been making summer clothes all winter. By the way, I picked up the perfect Breton stripe jersey from Miss Matatabi on Etsy recently. It’s amazing and I am hoarding it for the perfect boxy tee. I haven’t seen anything like it in shops round these parts.

Leave a Reply

