Underneath it all…

Its really cold! I’m huddled on the couch, watching a torrential bombardment of hail out the window. Hope it stops before I have to walk to the bus stop tomorrow morning…
Happily, this week I’ve made myself some extra layers to get me through the rest of winter!

20140716-185520-68120826.jpg

This is the first non-indie pattern I’ve sewn for ages, though it is one of Gertie’s (from Gertie’s Blog for Better Sewing) so maybe it can be counted as a partially indie pattern! I like to wear a camisole at work, as scrubs tend to be a bit breezy, and I thought some merino ones would be nice. I decided to make a trial version up in some soft cotton jersey I had in my stash first, incase it didn’t fit or wasn’t comfortable.

20140716-190251-68571933.jpg

Yes, its dotty! But its going under clothes, so I figure it doesn’t count…
(The bandaid is from my accidental attempt to cut the top of my finger off with a bread knife. Who knew bread knives could be so sharp?)

20140716-190437-68677791.jpg

I did the majority of the sewing on my machine, using a zig zag stitch. This is how the lace needed to be attatched, and I was feeling too lazy to be switching between machines all the time! The camisole came together pretty easily, though the front half ended up a good inch longer than the back half! I don’t know if that was a mistake on my part or not, I suspect it probably was…

20140716-190836-68916587.jpg

I used proper bra strapping and rings/sliders, which looks nice and professional, but I don’t think I’ll bother next time! I’ll just use a fixed length of bra strapping or the stretch lace. I probably won’t put the stretch of lace under the bust either, I’ll just sew the body to the bust pieces. I was astonished how difficult it was to find 1.5″ lace elastic in Wellington, even when I did track it down it was only in black, red or a dodgy puce colour. I may need to turn to the internet for my next versions!

20140716-191327-69207996.jpg

I had a bit of fabric left over, so I thought I might as well have a crack at making a pair of matching knickers too! Sadly I didn’t have enough of the wide lace to trim the top of them, but i had enough of the knicker elastic I used along the top back seam of the camisole. I haven’t tried them on yet, I thought it was a bad idea to wear them to work incase they’re uncomfortable! If they fit and are wearable though, I’ll never waste money on a pair of plain cotton knickers again…its daylight robbery!

20140716-191655-69415470.jpg

I’d love to have a crack at making a bra one day as well, I saw on the Sewaholic blog that Tasia was talking about maybe one day releasing a bra pattern, which would be awesome! I think I would need the hand-holding that you get with an indie pattern to feel brave enough to attempt it…

7 thoughts on “Underneath it all…

  1. Hey I am so glad I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing
    on Yahoo for something else, Anyways I am here now and would
    just like to say many thanks for a remarkable post and a
    all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to read through it all at the minute
    but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb work.

Leave a Reply

