April Roundup

Five Wednesdays in April means five projects, and they all seem to have been pretty big ones this month! I’ve learned lots though, and I’m happy with everything that I’ve made, so I’ll call this month a winner.

I’ve made:
Four garments (Elisalex, Briar, Coppelia and Rigel)
One accessory (merino glovelets)

I’ve also learned lots of new techniques, most notably how to use the overlocker! Its made such a difference to my sewing, everything has become much neater inside, and I’m much more confident sewing knits with it than on my bernina. I also learned how to do welt pockets, and open ended zippers (so much easier than dress zips!). I also discovered the joys of raglan sleeves and princess seams, and how much easier they make fitting things!

20140430-171617.jpg

My favourite thing from this month is my Coppelia cardigan, I love it! I’ve worn it a lot since I finished it, though the first time I wore it it dyed my white tee shirt pink! Happily the pink came out (love Sard Wonder Soap), and after another wash the colour doesn’t seem to be coming out of the cardigan any more. I showed it to the boyfriend, and the first thing he said was “Can it be called a cardigan if it doesn’t have any buttons?” Not sure what he’d class it as!

Today is my first day off in ages that I haven’t done any sewing, though I did get two new patterns in the post. Its great being able to get indie patterns from Dresses and Me, and not having to wait weeks for shipping to New Zealand (thanks Penny!). Now I just need to go and buy some more fabric, such a hardship…

Since I wasn’t sewing, and my mum was coming over for afternoon tea, I baked some lemon madelines. I feel very domesticated!

20140430-173103.jpg

Leave a Reply

