Planning my winter wardrobe

Its funny, when I started thinking about this blog I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to come up with something new to make every week. Instead the opposite has happened, the more success I have sewing, the more confident I feel, so the more projects I start planning! Its getting to the stage where I think I need to slow down and organise my ideas a bit more, or I’m just going to have a random mishmash of handmade items that I don’t wear. So, for the winter, I would like:

1) A Papercut Patterns Coppelia cardigan

20140412-091626.jpg
I already have some cherry red merino washed and ready to cut out for this pattern, so its a definite plan! I really wanted a fitted cardigan to go over my dresses for winter, so this is perfect.

2) Some long sleeved tops. I really love the Coco by Tilly and the Buttons, or the Renfrew by Sewaholic. Everyone and their mother seems to have made the Renfrew, so it must be a good pattern, but I think I prefer the Coco. I love a good breton top! I also have Grainline Studios Hemlock printed out, so that’ll get made at some point. I’m thinking a plain front and sleeves, and a floral or otherwise pattered back, if I can find the fabric.

3) A merino knit dress. I’m tossing up between the Lady Skater and the Out and About dress

20140412-095514.jpg
The Lady Skater is another pattern that seems to be beloved by the online sewing community, but the O&A dress has pockets, tough decisions! Through if I buy the Coco pattern, theres a long sleeved dress option there too…

4) I’m also having feelings about the Rigel Bomber by Papercut.

20140412-101448.jpg
I’m so not a bomber jacket person, but I’ve seen some awesome versions made up, and I really want something to throw on thats heavier than a cardigan, but lighter than my wool coats (and that isn’t a hoodie). Also, these amazing wools have just arrived at the Fabric Shop, and I cant stop thinking about them…

20140412-101840.jpg

20140412-101847.jpg

I also have my Archer pattern cut out and ready to go, but I’m still a bit scared of actually jumping in and getting started. Maybe when I’ve had a few more successes…

So, any opinions/suggestions/tips/tricks for any of the above would be most welcome!

Leave a Reply

